The Student View

Our Team

Our work is driven by our staff, journalist volunteers, trustees and advisory board members.

Bejay Mulenga MBE

Executive Director

Bejay Mulenga is a multidisciplinary creative entrepreneur with over a decade of experience across music, retail, commerce and education. He is passionate about teaching entrepreneurs & creators the skills they need to take their business to the next level has worked with over 10,000 entrepreneurs in over 10 years. Youngest award winner of the Queen’s Award for Enterprise Promotion in the UK.

Odudu Inyang

Project Manager (Media Literacy Champions and New Creator Network)

Odudu has worked at The Student View since 2022. He has over 18 years’ experience in Youth Work, Engagement and Community Projects. 

He manages the outreach department – which delivered the most newsrooms in an academic year in TSV’s history in 2023.

Odudu is now Project Manager for TSV’s Media Literacy Champions and New Creator Club Programmes.



Aba Abekah-Mensah

Chair of Trustees

Aba is an educator specialising in Mathematics for Post -16s. She holds qualifications in Neuroscience and SEN education which she uses in her developmental work both in the UK and abroad. Her work over the past 10 years, has previously gained international recognition as one of the top 30 under 30 Ghanaians worldwide for educational development.

Could it be you?

New Trustee

We’re looking for new trustees to join our Board – if you’re interested please email 

Sarah Samee


Sarah Samee is an award-winning strategic communications leader with two decades of experience across public, private and not-for-profit sectors. Sarah’s PR career began at Barclays and she has since held senior roles at the Metropolitan Police Service, Home Office, Cifas and Lloyd’s Register. Sarah is former Vice President of Women in PR, former Vice Chair of Sutton Carers’ Centre and is a Non-Executive Director for Slenky, a social platform connecting young people to leading brands and businesses.

James Burrows


James is a Senior Investment Director at Big Society Capital. He is part of the team looking at ways social investment can play a role to support and strengthen communities to improve lives.

External Advisors

Alan Rusbridger


Before taking up his current role of Principal at Lady Margaret Hall, University of Oxford, Alan was editor-in-chief of Guardian News and Media for 20 years. Rusbridger launched Guardian Unlimited, now, which draws in over 100 million unique browsers a month and has repeatedly been voted the best newspaper website in the world.

Rusbridger has been named editor of the year 3 times and has won the Liberty Human Rights Award, the European Press Prize and the Ortega y Gasset award.

Lord Hastings CBE

Advisory board member

Lord Hastings is KPMG’s Global Head of Citizenship and Diversity. He was previously the BBC’s first Head of Corporate Social Responsibility. Michael is a non-executive Director of BT (on the Board for Responsible and Sustainable Business) and a Trustee of the Vodafone Group Foundation. He represents KPMG International on the Global Corporate Citizenship International Committee of the World Economic Forum and the World Business Council on Sustainable Development. In 2009 he became a Member of the World Economic Forum’s Global Council on Diversity and Talent.

In 2005, Michael was awarded the honour of an independent peerage to the House of Lords by Her Majesty The Queen. Michael serves as a member of the Communications Select Committee. He has received the UNICEF award for his ‘outstanding contribution to understanding and effecting solutions for Africa’s children’.

Dame Linda Dobbs DBE

Advisory board member

In October 2004, Dame Linda became the first non-white high court judge in the UK, having been appointed a Deputy High Court Judge in 2003. She stepped down early in 2013 to pursue other interests. At the Bar, she was a member of and chaired a number of committees, including the Race Relations, Equal Opportunities, International, Professional Conduct and Professional Standard Committees. In 2003 she became the Chairman of the Criminal Bar Association where she set up its first Equality and Diversity sub-committee. Whilst on the High Court Bench she was the Senior Liaison Judge for Diversity, Chair of the Magisterial Committee of the Judicial Studies Board and Chair of the International Committee of the Judicial College and a Fawcett Commissioner.

Dame Linda holds 5 honorary doctorates. She is the Interim President of ILFA (International Lawyers for Africa). She has been named in the past as one of Britain’s most powerful black women and one of the 100 Great Black Britons and has featured regularly in the Power 100 List of Influential Black Britons. She continues to mentor and support many young people from BAME backgrounds.

James Mawson

Advisory board member

James is the founder and CEO of Global Corporate Venturing (GCV). James was the editor of Private Equity News, part of Dow Jones and The Wall Street Journal in London, for nearly four years until May 2010 when he launched GCV as an independent title from his own publishing company. This was followed by the launch of the second publication, Global University Venturing, in January 2012. Mawsonia’s third title, Global Government Venturing, was launched in May 2014.

Previously, James had freelanced for a host of national and trade media titles, including the BBC, Financial Times, Economist, Independent on Sunday, Sunday Express and Dow Jones Newswires; provided research for Nick Davies’s book, Flat Earth News; was a foreign correspondent in central and eastern Europe; and was international editor for FT Business.

Jon Slade

Advisory board member

Jon is the Financial Times’ Chief Commercial Officer. In his role, Jon oversees the FT’s subscriptions business, global advertising sales operations, print and digital consumer marketing, customer services and business development, as well as the FT’s Specialist division.

Abbie Scott

Advisory board member

Abbie Scott is deputy managing editor of the Financial Times. In 2018, Abbie was awarded the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award at the National Council for the Training of Journalists Awards for Excellence in Journalism.